In the beginning…

As I will probably mention many more times, I do not pretend to be funny. While I entertain myself quite frequently with what I think is funny, others may not get the joke.

That being said, in the beginning there was a girl…who ran as slow as a turtle. I am in no way a fast runner. I am excited when I can run any kind of distance at a 12 minute mile. The other day, I was excited to run 2 miles in under 20 minutes (part of it was up and over a bridge). My goal, as of today, is to finish a half marathon in 2 hours and 45 minutes. Mind you, this goal is huge considering the marathon I ran last Saturday. Let me give you some background.

Saturday, I ran the Wine and Dine Half Marathon in Walt Disney World. I had been preparing for months and I was confident I could finish under 2:45, until about three weeks ago. I came down with the Black Plague of all flus. To this day, I still have the residule cough from it. This was my second half marathon and it was the most difficult thing I’ve done. I felt lucky to complete it in 3:26 and change. My first half I prepared less and finished in 3:09 and change. Disappointment is an understatement.

So starting Monday, I will be beginning a new training regimen to complete a half marathon on February 23 in 2:45. This is making to be a long post because I feel I need to explain. I recently graduated from UCF and I work full-time. That leaves very little time to run, or eat or sleep or do much else. I love exercise so I make time but its still a struggle. I am also considering signing up for Team in Training for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington, D.C. in April. I would have to raise $2,800 and that is a terrifying amount. I guess we will see what happens.

Leave a Reply

