5 mile sprint…and a dead battery

As I stated previously, last night was my first run in about a week and a half. I was so nervous I was going to be dying during this run because not only was it my first run in forever, but I was increasing my mileage to 5 miles. Well, I am happy to say that my run was a huge success! Check out my time:

The air was slightly muggy and there was that feeling in the air that Florida gets when it looks as if its about to rain (it didn’t thankfully!). I ran like the wind. For me, I usually aim to run about 11:30-12:00 minute miles. But last night, even with increasing my mileage, I ran 10:46 minute miles! I was ecstatic. My silly IT band has decided to start causing me problems so now begins the process of stretching, icing and foam rolling. Rest is suggested but, come on guys, its race season.

On another note, my life is a joke. Right before my running group got together to run, I found that my car battery had died in the parking lot. It was a little over 3 years old and it was time for a new one but I was not at home and it was parked in a parking lot. I called my dad who thankfully bought and replaced my car battery while I was on my run last night (yes, it was in the dark and yes he is amazing!) So inconclusion, not only did I have a great run, but I got a new battery out of the evening!

Leave a Reply

