The Hunger Games

This past week I’ve been trying to figure out why I am so darn hungry all the time. I literally feel like I haven’t eaten in 3 days even after eating a full meal an hour prior. I was sitting at my desk at wrk yesterday when it hit me, my mileage! With my next half marathon quickly approaching and my mileage continually increasing, my metabolism is in high gear. So, I eat everything in sight. All this week I have eaten through my lunch and snacks by noon (and trust me, I bring a lot in my lunch box) and then I have to grab something to get me through the rest of the day. I can’t wait to go to the grocery store Sunday to stock up on food that will keep me full.

In the meantime, I’ve decided to address an issue that’s been plaguing me recently. I run at night and eating dinner an hour before I go to bed is not the best situation. By the time I get home and get dinner together to eat, I’m staring 8pm in the face. That’s extremely late considering I hit the hay at 9:30pm (yes, that is grandma status). I am in the process of testing out my solution: a recovery/protein shake. I know they’ve been used by tons of people but idk if I can get my head around having a shake for a meal twice a week. My first test will be GU Recovery Brew. I bought a sample last night from the running store and I will be using it with milk after my bridge sprints. I’ve heard good things so my fingers are crossed it will be delicious. I’ll keep y’all posted.

Leave a Reply

