Shamrock 10-miler and 5K

This Saturday was the second part of the challenge I registered for. The first part was the half marathon I ran 3 weeks ago and the second was the 10-mile portion of this race. I was extremely happy with this race. First of all, it was right around the corner from my house. It is very rare that races are anywhere near where I live. There aren’t many pretty locations in my immediate area so usually I have to drive 25 or more minutes to a race. This race was a 5 minute drive. The parking was well organized and thanks to the time change, didn’t start till 7:30am. My parents and I parked and made our way to the start area for the run. My mother made me feel awesome by letting me know how cute she thinks it is when couples run together and that I should get a boyfriend to do that with (I had to remind her that I am forever alone). The race started and I ventured out on the 10 mile out and back course around Lake Osbourne. I had a pesky stomach cramp from the beginning of the race but I ran through it. I was determined to make the run in 2 hours. Eventually it went away around mile two and I trotted along to the turnaround point just past mile 5. On the way back, I started getting the pains associated with running, a pinch her, an ache there but I continued. It was such a beautiful day the last 5 miles actually went by rather quickly. I found a few runners at about my pace and set out to beat them. The last two miles my side cramp returned and I have a bruise on my stomach from pushing on it to make it go away. I was just barely over my goal time so I kicked it up into high gear for the last mile. My parents were waiting just before the finish line to take video and pictures. I have such a good cheering section. I charged through the finish line just over my goal, which is pretty good in my books.

Overall, such a great race and I can’t wait to run it again next year!

Finish time: 2:00:57

Splits: 12:05

Packet pick-up: This was the easiest packet pick up ever. I literally just walked in, got my things and walked out. I even got the shirt size I wanted!

The Medal: I love races themed to holidays so this medal is definitely one of my favorites! The picture directly below is the medal and below that is the medal next to the 10-miler side of the challenge medal.

20130318-112459.jpg

20130318-112453.jpg

The Swag: I am obsessed with this shirt. I love when races give out long sleeved dri-fit shirt. I may have gotten a little bad luck by wearing this during the race but I have zero green and it was a little chilly that morning

20130318-112505.jpg

The Good: Everything about this race was good. The weather was beautiful, the course was interesting and just overall a good race. I heard that the race was as enthusiastic as last year, but it seemed pretty enthusiastic to me!

The Bad: I can’t find anything bad to say.

The Ugly: Definitely nothing ugly with this run.

Overall, I can’t wait to run it again next year!

Leave a Reply

