Gumbo Limbo Green Turtle Gallop 10-K

A few weeks ago I ran the Gumbo Limbo Green Turtle Gallop 10-K. I was sort of nervous about this race. I had been slacking (isn’t that the theme of this blog?!?) and I was slightly dehydrated…hey I’m 23! I signed up to run with my friend Brianne who had never run anything longer than a 5-K so we were both a little wary of what lie ahead. We met at the park a little later than I would have liked and went to the packet pick up. Since we registered early, we were guaranteed the correct shirt size (hooray!) and then we trotted back to my car, dropped everything off and quickly walked back to the starting line. There was a good amount of people, about 500, which surprised me for a 10-K in Boca. I love 10-Ks but they are so dang hard to find! We started out at a pace much quicker than I’m used to maintaining, about 10:45. I was nervous about trying to maintain this pace, especially since I had been slacking so much previously. I held strong through the first mile. The first water station was at mile 1.5 and I grabbed water and kept holding strong at that quick pace (quick for me! Maybe not for everyone else). I kept chugging along right up to mile 3, where we took our very short walk break. We picked back up and at mile 4, Brianne got her “first time at this distance” energy and took off. She finished about 5 minutes ahead of me. I came up to mile 5 and realized I had almost 20 minutes to finish this last stretch and come in under my time from 4 months ago. I was ecstatic. I pushed through the last 1.2 miles and finished just under 70 minutes at 1:09:28!

The race benefitted the turtle rescue at Gumbo Limbo. There was a person dressed up at Luna the turtle and of course I had to take pictures. The top finishers received a stemless wine glass with the race logo on it and there was a raffle. I was pleased to win GU Electrolyte Brew (over $30 value!) so I made my money back for registering for the race. The course was beautiful, along the beach, and it was for a great cause. Who doesn’t like turtles?

20130417-094433.jpg

20130417-094445.jpg

20130417-094456.jpg

Finish time: 1:09:28

Splits: 11:12 per mile

Packet Pick-Up: Seamless. No issues, just walked up and got my bib and shirt and walked away.

The Medal: No medal with this race. Kind of sad thing since everyone knows how much I like medals.

The Swag: Just a plain t-shirt. It is a very soft shirt and it has turtles on it. I would again like to ask who doesn’t like turtles?

The Good: The course was great. It was flat and quick. The weather was beautiful, not too hot and no cold front rolled in. The race was big enough that I actually felt like I was running with other people but small enough that I wasn’t crowded or running into people.

The Bad: I didn’t like that the course ran through a neighborhood, I always find that a little weird. I also want a medal, since we all know I’m too slow to win a wine glass 😉

The Ugly: Nothing ugly here.

I will be running this race for as many years as I can. I loved it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

