The Color Run – Ft. Lauderdale

This was my second Color Run experience. The first one was in Miami on October 21 (day before my birthday!) and that was a totally different experience. Miami was over an hour drive from my house and Ft. Lauderdale is under 45 minutes. Parking in Miami was a disaster while Ft. Lauderdale was a breeze. Finally, the Miami course was through a park and Ft. Lauderdale was through the city in the downtown area.

I woke up at about 5:45am on Sunday morning, through my clothes on and ran out the door to meet Ariel to head down to Ft. Lauderdale. We stopped at Burger King for some fuel (of course) and grabbed a parking spot in the first garage we went in. We paid to park, which I thought was outrageous, and headed down to meet our third runner, Nicole. We named the team Running for the Border in honor of Cinco de Mayo. We took our white pre race photos and tried to track down the Runicorn (it was a guy dressed up in a unicorn costume to take pictures) but failed.

20130507-130556.jpg

20130507-130610.jpg

We headed over to the starting corral as soon as possible. In Miami, parking was so difficult it took forever for us to get over to the start corral. When we finally did, it took about 40 minutes to get to a group to start. This time, we were in the very first corral! With the Runicorn! Ariel and I took an easy run since we had just run the half marathon last weekend but we still lost Nicole pretty early on. There were just so many people! I made sure to get lots of color this time because I didn’t get much in Miami. We hit orange first, then yellow, blue and pink was last. The course was quick and easy, except one part where we went down into a tunnel and had to run uphill to get out of it. As you all know, I HATE hills.

Ariel and I even snapped a photo on the course.

20130507-130618.jpg

We finished with a time of about 40:03. It’s not a timed run and we took it pretty easy to enjoy the color, so I think it’s not too shabby. Nicole finished right after we did and met us at the designated meet area. We grabbed our color packets and headed down to the color festival to throw our color in the air. It was then that I found the Runicorn and finally snapped a picture!

20130507-130702.jpg

I had a fantastic time at the Color Run in Ft. Lauderdale. We headed home after snagging a Nesquik and when I got home, I decided picking up my white cat would be a good idea. He obviously wasn’t very pleased with that.

20130507-130719.jpg

20130507-130640.jpg

20130507-130628.jpg

 20130507-130649.jpg

20130507-130711.jpg

20130507-130734.jpg

My very colorful hand!

Finish time: ~40:03

Splits: ~

Packet Pick-up: A breeze! I got right in to pick it up on my way to Miami for some fitness workshops. I picked up all three packets in about 5 minutes.

The Medal: No medal here, just color

The Swag: Not a very good picture but there were temporary tattoos, a shirt, a sweatband and a color packet for after the race

20130507-130855.jpg

The Good: Everything! The course, the organization, the runicorn, the amount of color. Couldn’t have gone any better.

The Bad: Paying for parking! It’s my biggest pet peeve. I already paid to run the race.

The Ugly: Nothing ugly here. I was very impressed in comparison to the Miami race.

Overall it was a fantastic way to spend my Cinco de Mayo!

Leave a Reply

