Run, Sweat and Beers 5-K

This is quite a bit late, but better late than never they say. I ran the Run, Sweat and Beers 5-K under the assumption that I would in no way come close to my goal of under 30:00 minutes. It was a hot, sticky day in South Florida and the humidity was brutal. The race was at 6:30pm on a Thursday, so my plan was to pick my mother up from the Tri-Rail station after work and head out west to the race. Right after I picked her up, a huge storm broke and it began raining. Raining is probably an understatement because it was like the storm of the century. We arrived at the park, along with a few other wary runners, very early. I breezed through packet pick-up and my mom and I began to wait out the storm. At about 6:15pm, the rain had slowed considerably but it was still a light rain. When it was time for the race to start, they lined us up at the start line (in the rain) and away we went.

I knocked out my first mile at a 10:14 pace. I am usually extremely slow and sore my first mile so I knew I could pick it up from there. I blew through mile two in 9:38. I was remember thinking, I can do this, I can get a PR here (I was still thinking I’d barely get under 34:00). I stopped for water just after the mile two marker and mile 3 came in at 9:53. I picked it up for the last .1 at a 7:37 pace and finished with an official time of 30:46.22. I almost cried (literally, my mom asked me why I looked so upset when I finished).

At the conclusion of my amazing race, we were rewarded with free chicken wings and unlimited beer. It was a glorious occassion.

Finish time: 30:46.22

Splits: 9:51/mile

Packet Pick-up: A breeze on the day of

The Medal: No medal but the beer and chicken wings makes up for it.

The Swag: a sweet dri fit shirt (that like most dri fit shirts, is too big for me), beer, chicken wings, and some coupons

The Good: Umm…free beer and chicken wings. Can you get any better than that.

The Bad: The rain, but that was uncontrollable

The Ugly: My watch died. I have a Garmin Forerunner 110 that bit the dust after the run. I’m pretty sure it had quite a bit to do with the rain. I will say this about Garmin, they took my watch back and sent me a refurbished one with no hassle. I am a huge fan of their customer service. Also, they ran out of wings so the slower run (which is usually me) didn’t get any chicken wings

Leave a Reply

