The New Year

Ringing in the new year always seems to promise hope of a new tomorrow, and a new way of life. The simple fact of it is though, that the same concerns/issues/setbacks will still be present in the morning. Resolutions are great, as long as you put them into practice.

Today marks exactly two weeks since New Year’s Eve. Last night, I went out for girl’s night where we discussed a couple of our resolutions. 13 days into the new year and they were already falling apart. I refuse to let mine fall apart. 2016 is a new and exciting year for me and my resolutions are part of it. I am doing great at work, started school pursuing something I actually enjoy learning about, and my running has never been better. I don’t have too many resolutions, but they are:

  1. Pay off debt (isn’t this everyone’s resolution?)
  2. Run the Twin Cities Marathon in Minneapolis, MN on October 9, 2016
  3. Run the Space Coast Half Marathon in under 2:10:00
  4. Save $7,000 in addition to retirement savings

I wasn’t lying, I only have four. But they will be four that I complete (unless I tragically break my ankle and can’t run, I’ll be running that dang marathon).

So I ask you, what will you do with your “fresh start”?

7 thoughts on “The New Year

  1. I have only one resolution.
    1. To run again
    This goal will take patience and a hell of a lot of will power. Quick version I suffered a back injury in which took me out of physical activity for 3 years. I refuse to do surgery so I am starting from scratch building muscle and hopefully will be running again soon. Good luck on your 4! You can def hit them all!!!

  2. Ambitious, important goals! Very impressive.

    I will be running my third half next month, Disney princess half. I also signed up for an annual 5 mile in March. I hope to run a few more races in addition to those. I want to work on being the best mom and wife I can be.. Practice patience and show love. I want to continue down this journey of a healthy lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

